Derbyshire Forest School Conference

It’s always great to meet up with like minded people and develop new ideas, so I was really looking forward to the forest school day at the Eco Centre in Wirksworth.

I was leading a workshop in making Scandinavian Friendship Braids which I’d seen on the kindling Website and have used a lot at my own forest school. I love this simple, but not easy activity, it’s great for team work, communicating, laughing and making something you can share with a friend. You can also get in depth about differentiating with shapes, colours, words and numbers so it’s a great activity for any age.  I really enjoy leading a workshop at this conference, as the participants are all so keen to engage with new ideas that they can take back and use in their own settings.

After my workshop had finished, I attended a woodland gym and yoga session, which to be honest, my bra trauma started very early on in the session, so I decided observing was the safest option! I did enjoy the yoga story and the relaxation at the end though.  After a picnic lunch, I watched Paul Adamson demonstrate how to use a bow drill to light a fire and picked up a few tips on how to do this successfully, I have perfected how to fail at this so it’s time to do it properly…

im always inspired by a bit of CPD and the Derbyshire Forest School Conference never fails to deliver. I’m already wondering what workshop to offer next year.

 

Leave a comment